Educational Psychology

Program Overview

Educational Psychology is an academic program in the Department of Educational Psychology and Leadership. The program equips students with a comprehensive knowledge of learning, motivation, development, and educational foundations. Additionally, students learn to apply quantitative and qualitative research skills in a manner that promotes educational improvement while valuing diversity. Thus, educational psychology attracts students from various educational and professional backgrounds including education, psychology, human sciences, business, sports sciences, and health sciences.

Standards

Program work within Educational Psychology is developed and guided by a strong conceptual framework, the standards from the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), guidelines from the American Psychological Association (APA), American Educational Research Association (AERA), and National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) and the sound professional judgment of an experienced and caring faculty.

Degree Programs of Study

Students may seek either a Doctoral (Ph.D.) or Master’s degree (M.Ed.) in Educational Psychology. The doctoral program emphasizes research and teaching and prepares students for career positions in academia. Additionally, Educational Psychology prepares students for careers in educational research and measurement, such as those found in universities (e.g., institutional research), government agencies, and testing companies. However, students may also choose a practitioner-oriented emphasis or specialization, such as school psychology, by crafting an individualized, interdisciplinary degree plan.

The master’s program is designed to provide students with content knowledge that facilitates the application of research in educational psychology to educational settings. Teachers are especially encouraged to select the applied master’s degree plan that is designed to prepare highly effective, culturally sensitive educators.

Application Process

Students are strongly encouraged to begin their program research and application well in advance of the semester they plan to start.

The graduate application process is a two-step process consisting of the ApplyTexas application and the Texas Tech College of Education application. The handbooks detail the application processes for those programs:

Faculty

Back, Susan
Director, Office of Program Evaluation & Research Service
susan.back@ttu.edu
806-834-4798
EDUC 107A

Barnard-Brak, Lucy
Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
lucy.barnard-brak@ttu.edu
806-834-2407
EDUC 356

Burley, Hansel
Professor, Educational Psychology
hansel.burley@ttu.edu
806-834-5135
EDUC 379

Duemer, Lee
Professor, Educational Psychology
lee.duemer@ttu.edu
806-834-0492
EDUC 375

Hawley, Patricia
Professor, Educational Psychology
patricia.hawley@ttu.edu
EDUC 374

Lan, William
Professor, Educational Psychology
william.lan@ttu.edu
806-834-2007
EDUC 376

Little, Todd
Professor, Director of Institute, IMMAP
todd.d.little@ttu.edu
785-550-1641
EDUC 379

Richman, David
Professor, Educational Psychology
d.richman@ttu.edu
806-834-4960
EDUC 368

Soto, Paul
Research Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology
paul.soto@ttu.edu
806-834-0734
Burkhart Center 215

Siwatu, Kamau
Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
kamau.siwatu@ttu.edu
806-834-5850
EDUC 371

Stevens, Tara
Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
tara.stevens@ttu.edu
806-834-2486
EDUC 373

Wang, Eugene
Associate Professor, Program Coordinator, Associate Director of Institute, IMMAP
eugene.wang@ttu.edu
806-834-3787
EDUC 378

Williams, Amanda
Instructor, Educational Psychology
a.williams@ttu.edu
806-834-0247
EDUC 320

Graduate Students